May 10, 2007


Blessed be God.
Blessed be His Holy Name.
Blessed be Jesus Christ, true God and true man.
Blessed be the Name of Jesus.
Blessed be His Most Sacred Heart.
Blessed be His Most Precious Blood.
Blessed be Jesus in the Most Holy Sacrament of the Altar.
Blessed be the Holy Spirit, the Paraclete.
Blessed be the great Mother of God, Mary most holy.
Blessed be her holy and Immaculate Conception.
Blessed be her glorious Assumption.
Blessed be the name of Mary, Virgin and Mother.
Blessed be St. Joseph, her most chaste spouse.
Blessed be God in His angels and in His Saints.

ALL: May the heart of Jesus, in the Most Blessed Sacrament, be praised, adored, and loved with grateful affection, at every moment, in all the tabernacles of the world, even to the end of time. Amen.
The Divine Praises are acclamations, which traditionally conclude Benediction. Although the present official rite makes their use optional during the reposition of the sacrament, the Divine Praises are still generally recited or sung immediately following the blessing with the Host. The recitation sometimes takes the form of a litany, recited by the priest and repeated by the people, or priest and people recite the Praises together.
The original form is attributed to the eighteenth-century Jesuit Luigi Felici, who promoted them as reparation for public blasphemy. The litany has been added to over the years and indulgenced by the Holy See until assuming their present form.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time to read my posts and to comment on them. God Bless!